The girl next door (#34)

image

IF
If it was my last day,
I’ll make sure you don’t stay awake ,
Post midnight ,
Looking at the dimly lit sky.
As you call me,
I’ll ask you to sleep
Which you won’t I know ,
You’ll say don’t go.
As I tell you it’s time
But since it will be the last time,
When you’ll say – please stay ,
I won’t go away.
I’ll tell you to think as if I’m beside you ,
As we see the sky turn grey , then blue.
Miles apart but a heartbeat away.
I’ll be lying with machines on my side and a mask on my face,
You’ll be sitting with the case files, and then you’ll ask me to hold for a moment in haste.
What If I can’t make it through that moment? ,
What if The rebel in me gave up?,
What if I still have a lot of things to tell?
What if I can’t make it through?
I’ll break my promise of forever
As death parts me and you.
You get back to me ,
“Sorry an urgent call so where were we? …hello ?? Hello ” you say.
They take the phone ,
And tell you ” we’re sorry but she’s no more.”
If that ever happens,we’ll pretend the night will never end.
If it’s the last time I don’t want it to end.

©Samridhi Dutta

Author:

I am a person with the most self contradicting personality -shy till I don't know you.quiet till you are a stranger.impulsive.dreamer. I don't talk much to express myself I would rather write,draw ,paint or sketch . Mammas girl( and proud of that). there's not anything thing fancy about me.

Leave a Reply

